Things I Love Thursday & Downton Abbey

TiLT 1-17

This is a story of what happens when a girl with an obsessive nature watches the first episode of a show that is in its 3rd season.

I’ve heard so much about Downton Abbey. So. Much. Since my love for great costuming is no secret, people always gush about how I’ll fall head over heels in love with all the outfits. But the thing is, I’m kind of picky. It looked nice (from the previews) but not wonderful. Not visually stunning. Certainly not enough for the constant barrage of praise that was always being tossed at me.

I would have watched it but I didn’t have time to start a new show. Sadly, Gossip Girl has now come to an (amazing) end. Where would all my drama come from?!

Browsing Netflix I came across Downton Abbey Season 1. I started it and…..watched the entire first season that night. It was a wonderful series! I couldn’t believe I’d let so much time slip by before watching it. The next day I went to watch Season 2…

But wait…!

Netflix Instant doesn’t have Season 2. How could this be?!

I searched and searched for some way to instantly watch it (without spending 1.99 an episode) and found it available on Hulu Plus. Soooo…I signed up for the one week free trial at Hulu just to watch this show. And then I did. Watched this whole show.

I can’t really explain why this show is so great. Its not the best at anything in particular but somehow it works. Maybe its just because I don’t currently have a show steeped in draaaaaama to keep me entertained. I don’t know.

Nor do I care. I am now a huge fan of Downton Abbey. I’m letting Anna & Bates replace the Chuck and Blair whole in my life for steamy passion that always seems to have a fucking hitch. And I’m super hopeful that at some point in the near future it will be realized that bad things can happen to a character who isn’t poor Edith. Seriously guys, she always seems to come out last. It’s getting tragic.

Have you seen the show? What do you think?

PS: YES, you read that right! I got a winning lotto ticket!! I won another ticket, which was weird but whatever, I am super excited :)

PPS:  I really like the idea of making a list of what’s making me especially happy once a week. So I’ll be trying this whole Things I Love Thursday out for a bit…

2 thoughts on “Things I Love Thursday & Downton Abbey

  1. Wow, a winning lottery ticket. Congrats :)
    I like your list of things that make you happy (I need to get into knitting/crocheting more).
    Former Gossip Girl fan here, although I stopped watching it religiously two seasons ago (the story lines were getting a bit too ridiculous for my taste). I have yet to see Downton (I also feel like saying Downtown) Abbey, although like you, I’ve heard great things about it. And one of the actresses from the show just won a Golden Globe.

  2. Ahhh! It really was a huge highlight, thanks :) I just found a cute site that offers a free crocheting class online…If you’re interested. I don’t actually know how to crochet yet so I think I’m going to try it.
    Ohmygosh right?! The story did get super ridiculous! I freely admit that. I used to be really into it and then, like you, drifted a bit. I still loved it, it just wasn’t urgent anymore. Honestly, I only watched for Chuck & Blair haha. The other characters I could do without. Plus the fashion was always perfect. *sigh*
    I always want to say ‘Downtown’ too. It almost sounds like it when they say it fast with an accent. Its good, but I really can’t pinpoint why. Its crazy, it holds my attention but I can’t say exactly why! But yeah its good. And she deserved it!

Leave a Reply

