11 Things I Learned While Writing A Novel In 17 Days

It has come to my attention that telling myself and everyone else that I was writing a novel (50,000 words) in 17 days put a lot of pressure on me. That’s right guys, writing that much may seeeeeeem like its no biggie, but it kinda’ is.

Truth be told I’m most likely not going to finish by the deadline BUT…

That shouldn’t be too surprising. The bigger surprise is that while I was working out what to write and the style in which to write it I discovered some things.

1. The worst part of writing fiction is setting up imagined conversations.

2. I hate using quotation marks but love using pretty much all other punctuation.

3. There aren’t that many homosexual romance novels. (Found out while researching)

4. I get distracted easily.

5. Second worst part of writing a fiction book is the TRANSITIONING. Or making smooth fucking transitions.

6. Music makes me forget to write.

7. It’s hard to focus on ONE main story. I kept wanting to include every storyline I’d ever imagined.

8. When I started I did this math equation…I can type roughly 60 words a minute. There are 60 minutes in an hour. 60×60=3,600 words an hour.50,000/5=10,000. Therefore I can write for a couple hours a day and ….Okay, I don’t know, I’m shit at math. I somehow came to the conclusion that it would be super easy to write around 10,000 words a day for 5 days to do this. WTF, I know.

9. I have an eye twitch. So, I knew this, I just didn’t know it happened when I write for loooooong periods.

10. My vocabulary has lots of room to expand & I think the Thesaurus is the funnest book to spend some time in.

11. 17 days goes by super fucking quick when you need to get shit done.

And now, I’m off to write some more of my book. Its coming together nicely and I can’t wait to finish it! This is so much fun *singing*!

Leave a Reply

