Barnes & Noble Is My Tiffany’s

Barnes and Noble, to some, is a gross corporate beast of burden on society. To some. To me, well, it is everything wonderful and perfect and calming. It is my Tiffany’s.

My visits aren’t quite as glamorous as Holly’s and they are usually spent inside but still. It is my place of refuge when life goes to shit. Holly explains it well…

“Listen…you know those days when you get the mean reds?” –Holly.
“The mean reds? You mean like the blues?” –Fred (Paul).
“No… the blues are because you’re getting fat or because it’s been raining too long. You’re just sad, that’s all. The mean reds are horrible. Suddenly you’re afraid and you don’t know what you’re afraid of. Do you ever get that feeling?” –Holly.
“Sure.” –Fred (Paul).
“When I get it the only thing that does any good is to jump into a cab and go to Tiffany’s. Calms me down right away.” –Holly.

I could (and often do) spend hours browsing around such a clean-cut place filled with books. I enjoy exploring all the different sections. I take my time sipping a Starbucks tea. I relax in a comfy chair with a book or magazine. I observe others in the store, who also seem quite content.

The exteriors are usually magnificent. Great hulking storefronts in the signature colors. Massive yet peaceful. I’ve parked my car outside many a night before a long drive or when I need to get away for a bit. This was always my spot of choice. After hours it just rests, strong and silent, with little benches spread about the parking lot. The perfect place to sit and soak in the silence.

I am overcome with some unnamed emotion when around a Barnes and Noble. A profound and gentle feeling of security and…hope maybe. That there are wonderful things out there. That the world hasn’t truly gone to shit. That there is a regal place packed to the brim with my favorite things-books.

A place where just being near it makes everything better. That’s why Barnes and Noble is my Tiffany’s.

“If I could find a real life place to make me feel like Tiffany’s, then I’d buy some furniture and give the cat a name.” –Holly.

Where is your Tiffany’s? Where do you go to calm the mean reds?

Leave a Reply

